Across The Nightingale Floor

Lian Hearn, 2004

Details v

Date: 2004
ISBN: 9780330415286
Notes: (*dup?)
Tag: HEAR1/
Copies: 2 (ab)

Enter the feudal world of the Otori - filled with magic, treachery and intrigue - inspired by medieval Japan and created by acclaimed Australian author, Lian Hearn. Across the Nightingale Floor is the first book in the five-part Tales of the Otori series. More than four million copies have been sold in over 36 countries; now the series is available as ebooks for the first time. 'The best story of magic, love, sex, revenge and suspense to have come this way since Philip Pullman' Independent On Sunday (UK) In his fortress at Inuyama, the murderous warlord Iida Sadamu surveys his famous nightingale floor. Constructed with exquisite skill, it sings at the tread of each human foot. No assassin can cross it unheard. Brought up in a remote village among the Hidden, a reclusive and spiritual people, Takeo has learned only the ways of peace. Why, then, does he possess the deadly skills that make him so valuable to the sinister Tribe? These supernatural powers will lead him to his violent destiny within the walls of Inuyama - and to an impossible longing for a girl who can never be his. His journey is one of revenge and treachery, beauty and magic, and the passion of first love. 'masterful storytelling ... a fantastic read' The Age The TALES OF THE OTORI series Book 1: Across the Nightingale Floor Book 2: Grass for his Pillow Book 3: Brilliance of the Moon Book 4: The Harsh Cry of the Heron (epilogue) Book 5: Heaven's Net is Wide (prologue) PRAISE FOR THE TALES OF THE OTORI 'An engrossing fantasy saga of literary quality.' The Age 'Lian Hearn's marvellous storytelling talent ... makes reading these books a moment of pure bliss.' Le Monde 'an enthralling and original work of fantasy' The Times

2 of 2 available ¤ 0 reviews
Across The Nightingale Floor